Ownership Structure

SDP is jointly owned by the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board and Morrison & Co-managed Utilities Trust of Australia (UTA).

Ownership Structure

The owners of the Sydney Desalination Plant are the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan (60%) and Utilities Trust of Australia (40%). 

Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan

The Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board (Ontario Teachers’) is the administrator of Canada’s largest single-profession pension plan, with $221.2 billion in net assets (all figures at December 31, 2020). It holds a diverse global portfolio of assets, approximately 80% of which is managed in-house, and has earned an annual total-fund net return of 9.6% since the plan’s founding in 1990. 

Ontario Teachers’ is an independent organization headquartered in Toronto. Its Asia-Pacific regional offices are in Hong Kong and Singapore, and its Europe, Middle East & Africa region office is in London.

The defined-benefit plan, which is fully funded, invests and administers the pensions of the province of Ontario’s 331,000 active and retired teachers. For more information, visit otpp.com and follow us on Twitter @OtppInfo.

Utilities Trust of Australia

Utilities Trust of Australia (“UTA”) is a core infrastructure fund for institutional investors with a long-term investment horizon and a low-to-moderate appetite for risk. UTA is managed by Morrison & Co.

UTA has a globally diversified portfolio of quality assets and a track record of delivering strong returns with low volatility over time. UTA was established in 1994 and is one of Australia’s first infrastructure investment funds.

Further information: https://www.uta.com.au/